Free Westpac ATM cash withdrawals overseas

Hole in the WallDespite being a long time Westpac customer, before today I’d never heard of the (rather menancingly named) Global ATM Alliance which, apparently, allows Westpac customers to access cash without paying international access fees at ATM’s owned by Bank of Nova Scotia, Bank of America, BNP Paribas, Barclays and Deutsche Bank. This allows reduced-fee access at ‘over 32,000 cash machines in over 40 countries’.

Regular account fees and a currency conversion fee apply.

Westpac certainly don’t seem to have done a great job at promoting this, with no mention on their ‘access your money overseas’ page. Indeed, all I could find on their website was this 2001 press release.

So has anybody used this service or have any other tips for accessing money overseas? Leave a comment.

Subscribe to our RSS feed!

[Photo Creative Commons via ohad* on Flickr]

7 responses to “Free Westpac ATM cash withdrawals overseas

  1. I used it the other way around – I’m an Australian living in the US & bank at Bank of America here. I withdrew cash from the the Westpac ATMs in Australia with no problems. I don’t believe there were any fees AND the exchange rate was quite good. I believe I only found out about it by fluke, while I was looking to get some A$ before I went home.

    Amusingly, I used to work for Westpac 🙂

  2. Pingback: How to Take Money Overseas - A Comparison of Some of the Options « Oz Traveller

  3. Yeh I was told a number of times by the bank before travelling overseas. In the branch and the card call centre.

  4. What rock are you hiding under. It all over the ATMs

  5. I blog frequently and I really thank you for
    your content. This article has really peaked my interest.
    I’m going to book mark your website and keep checking for
    new details about once a week. I opted in for your RSS feed too.

    SoundCloud Downloader http://userscripts.org/guides/861 is the easiest way to download songs directly
    to your computer. You can download any song
    on SoundCloud. Just click and download high quality mp3
    files.
    SoundCloud Downloader – download music from SoundCloud
    easily! Break limits with this awesome SoundCloud Downloader!

  6. Most Facebook users are teenagers who do not have a lot of money to spend.
    Google+ is a social networking site that has a range of different features that you can use to connect with patients and
    other healthcare professionals. I make boards of animals, quotes, or color combinations.

  7. I am in fact pleased to glance at this webpage posts which includes tons of useful information, thanks for providing these data.

Leave a Reply

